Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

1 minute ago, Mandy Richardson said:

Hi I have a skywatcher 360pds any tips or advice would be great I am very new to this 😁

I have gone from a small telescope to this amazing but huge telescope. 

Thank you Mandy

IS it a Skywatcher 300 PDS? I can't find anything on what you have listed.

The 300 PDS is amazing. I have a 250P and a 200P. Both are good, but yours is even better. You'll want some nice dark skies to get the best out of that.

From another Mandy

• Thanks 1

1 hour ago, Mandy Richardson said:

I think I've just added photo just finding my way around site, mine is a 360pds 😁 I'm in South East we have amazing skies here so hope to figure out how to use it lol

Well, it is on an equatorial mount, so you'll need to learn how to polar align it. But, there are plenty of people in here who can tell you how to do that. Looking at the small cardboard boxes on your table, I assume you have 10 mm and 25 mm eyepieces for it. The 25 mm is good, but the 10 mm is generally said to be poor. Anyway, you'll want to start with the 25 mm as it will give you a wider field of view and make the scope easier to point.

Probably the first thing to do is align the finderscope with the main telescope, which is best done in daylight by pointing the scope at something more than about a mile away (a church spire or similar is great) and getting the tip of the spire centred in the field of view in both the main scope and finderscope by adjusting the alignment screws around the finderscope.

From your photo, it looks more like a 130P to me. Have a look at the link below and see what I mean. Where did you get the 360PDS designation from? Is it on the tube?

https://www.picstop.co.uk/sky-watcher-telescopes/sky-watcher-explorer-130p-telescope.html?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIsJ7N2Kfd-QIVjMx3Ch36iAObEAQYASABEgKKb_D_BwE

• Thanks 1

not sure what a 360 is in terms of the mirror but the mount and scope look exactly like my SW130EQ2?