SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

What are the Pros and Cons of Sensor Size and Resolution?

PeterC65

I'm new to EEVA and I'm trying to understand the pros and cons of small sensor / low resolution cameras VS large sensor / high resolution cameras.

I have an Altair GPCAM2 327C which has a 5.6mm x 3.1mm 2.1MP sensor with 2.9µm pixels and a Canon EOS 1100D which has a 22.2mm x 14.7mm 12MP sensor with 5.2µm pixels. I've mostly been using the Altair camera as its more convenient and I'm concerned about over use of the shutter on the DSLR (it isn't just used for astronomy).

It seems to me that a larger sensor with higher resolution gives me a wider field of view (for a given optical setup), and allows me to zoom digitally or use ROI (without pixilation) to get a similar image to the one I get from the Altair.

I like that I can get a wide field of view with the Canon camera for targets such as M31 and M45.

With the Altair I miss being able to easily change magnification by swapping eyepieces to zoom in on a target.

Is my understanding correct? Are there down sides to a large sensor / high resolution camera? Bear in mind I'm interested in EEVA rather than AP.

I've been considering the Altair Hypercam 269C which has a 20.5mm x 17.8mm 20.9MP sensor with 3.3µm pixels, so a similar sensor size to the existing Canon and similar pixel size to the existing Altair.

There are also small sensor / high resolution cameras e.g. my ASI 290 has a smaller FOV but higher resolution than my Lodestar.

Resolution isn't a property of the camera only -- you have to take into account the focal length of your scope.  A camera that looks like it is low-res with one scope might have sufficient resolution with a different scope. Have you checked out astronomy.tools CCD suitability calculator?

Assuming a suitable scope, then, re the specific question of any downsides of a large FOV / high resolution setup, I see a few, but none of them are necessarily game changers