Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Meade 6.3 Reducer with ED80

blinky

I have a WO FF II and I see that somebody is wanting to swap a Meade 6.3 reducer for one. Does anybody know if this will work better than the FF II in the ED80? I dont want to swap for something not as good but I have a feeling I am not getting the best out of the ED80 with the WO Reducer.

I would appreciate you folks thoughts on this!

Hi Blinky!

I have tested the Meade and Celestron F6.3 reducers personally.

In my personal opinion each of them this is a piece of rubbish!:)

Would not spend a dime on them.

They were built and sold for SCT`s and not refractors.

They bring horrible vignetting.

With the WO FF II i have no experience.

Edited by Whippy because of naughty words!

Oh dear have to disagree there , i use the celestron 6.3 reducer all the time in both the Equinox 80 and 120 , gives a pretty good coma free field. i certainly have no complaints on this item , after trying a few reducers before that i had real problems with coma , none since the use of the 6.3 ,

But of course this is only my opinion ,others may say different.

Rog:)

Hi Gerald, yup all my images are mainly using the 6.3 reducer, recent ones over the last few months are prime with the 120 Equinox. also the 6. 3 will not work with the Equinox 66.different fitting on that one .

Rog

I have to say i,m not sure with the meade 6.3 not sure if this gives such a good flat field as the Celestron.

:)

If yes, then i think i had bad luck with my version of the

reducer.

Quite possible - to complicate things there was (at least) one duff batch of the Meade reducers where the focal length was wrong, and as I understand it also some 'fakes' out there. My understanding (as Rog says) is that the f/6.3 reducer can work well with the 80ED although you need extension tubes to reach focus.

i use the celestron 6.3 reducer all the time in both the Equinox 80 and 120 , gives a pretty good coma free field.