SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

NGC 6960 Veil Nebula in HOO. Tips appreciated!

pipnina

I'm still quite new to narrowband imaging, still trying to work out how to process it all.1538179571_Panel1Solo-Process2.thumb.jpg.335cae452aa56c36e69a58f36ec6401c.jpg

This represents about 90 minutes of Ha and about an hour of OIII

My current workflow is to perform gradient extraction on each filter master light individually, then LRGB combine and begin stretching R, G and B separately trying to keep the background neutral while bringing out the nebula in a bright and clear way. Then I fiddle with the curves, editing RGB separately and with the same aim as when stretching. Eventually I move to RawTherapee for final touches, some denoise and wavelets.

Any tips for improving my process are welcome! At the moment it seems a little blue, but I am struggling to make the reds seem as deep as the blues, they look a little purple-y, and the background is either blue, green or red and I can't make it go grey.

Hoping to get the other half of the veil soon!

• Like 5

It's nice image. Lots of detail in there.

My initial process had the same red/purple cast.

With a bit more effort, I reached this version

1522731606_VeilNebula.thumb.jpg.3d486e67566a3cb2c028501164e828c8.jpg

I processed mine in Pixinsight, and I can't remember exactly how I got from the initial image to this final version. However, I definitely cropped the Ha and O3 masters to get rid of any edges. Any mismatch between the masters can create problems when removing gradients, and I see your image does need trimming. I then did a careful Dynamic Background Extraction to remove any gradients. Masked Stretch to get non-linear images that were then combined into HOO/RGB. At that point I still had the red/purple issue, but working on the colour balance with Curves Transformation gave me something I was happy with.