SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

A summer all-nighter

josefk

Other than a few binocular sessions while on holiday this is my first time out ‘proper’ since May and boy oh boy was it a cracker. It turned into a 7hr “all you can eat” special. Sorry i go on a bit below. TLDR - Jupiter was ace in the end.

The location for this session was Fineshade Woods in Northamptonshire. The sky was clear and dark after the moon had set. I don’t know the precise sky quality or Bortle but it should be SQ21.04 and Bortle 4 according to “Clear Outside”. For what it’s worth in the middle of the session i could see about 10…15 degrees width of Milky Way stretching about 90 degrees eastwards from the western (leading) edge of the summer triangle so very favourable I think. It did get a little damp in the atmosphere after 03:00 and this affected lower altitude targets.

Nominal targets for the session were to have a look at Jupiter and Saturn with my new eyepiece giving 200x/0.9 exit pupil/21’ TFOV and to try and catch the Europa shadow transit on Jupiter. Other eyepieces used gave 80x/2.4mm exit pupil/60’ TFOV and 140x/1.something exit pupil/31’ TFOV. I have an 8" Cassegrain and use a Nexus DSC.

First up after alignment - a quick look around Lyra. Split all four in the Double Double and Zeta 1 & 2. I didn’t find Epsilon 1 any easier to split at 200x than at 140x (my highest mag on this scope to date). Maybe my kit wasn’t cool enough?

First proper target was the North America Nebula to see if i could see nebulosity here. i have never really satisfactorily observed nebulosity of this type (without really knowingg i was really seeing an optical artefact like damp or glare). I had no better success on this topic here tonight so will need to read up what kind of aperture i would need (or filter). I did ‘trip over’ NGC 6996 in my 80x/60’ eyepiece while here.