SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Trouble colour balancing in SHO

I've got a few hours of SHO data which I am having a hell of a job processing. I am a total noob to narrowband, so be gentle...

I integrated the Sii, H alpha and Oiii to get three masters. I then linear fitted them to the weakest (Oiii) and did a basic combine using pixel math (Sii -> R, H alpha -> G and Oiii -> B). But (unsurprisingly since the H alpha signal is super strong) I get a very green image. I've tried background neutralisation and color calibration but nothing seems to fix it. I think my data is pretty much ok, but I just can't figure out how to get a useable RGB image from it. A linear fit to H alpha is even worse!

Can anyone put me out of my misery and get a nice picture out of this?

Here are the three masters 

image.thumb.png.5d3dae9b7856c699ffafc7958281493f.png

I downloaded the data, but no dice.

Don't do xisf as I don't have PI.

Here is something that you can try instead of your normal workflow:

Stretch each channel individually until you get pleasing image / you bring out the detail. Keep in mind that Ha is strongest so don't over do it with Ha.

Then do RGB combine for SHO palette.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

SCNR it and see where that gets you.

I don't know pixinsight, but when you say you linear fitted them, not sure what that means but as Vlaiv suggests - open all 3 masters next to each other, and aim to make the histograms peak around the same amount. usually this will mean stretching the Sii and Oiii up to where the Ha is. then combine them.

Also, you may want to try the script thing that does this someone mentioned - (google search later) - SHO-AIP.

• Thanks 1

20 hours ago, scotty38 said:

Assume no further joy with the fancy pants dynamic pixelmath stuff then?

sadly no. I tried a number of fancy expressions.

20 hours ago, vlaiv said:

I downloaded the data, but no dice.

Don't do xisf as I don't have PI.