SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Focusing Canon 500d with Skywatcher 130P - Not back focus

Hi, Sorry if i havent posted in the right place. I am a newbie.

I have setup my scope, fixed the back focus so there is travel either way. I can get reasonable focus including using a bahtinov mask. The issue I have is when I zoom in on the camera screen - it does not appear to be in focus.  Is this normal?

Thanks in advance

628916963_withoutbahtinov.thumb.jpg.e458116339e5854b94e89ec6a70f0f94.jpg1182435488_Zoomedinoncamera(2).PNG.d4377b99b5d3d62a2ca3a9e0783a2bbc.PNG

With Bahtinov.jpg

I see elongated faint stars in the first and second images.

You say it's a shot of the screen with another camera ?

You should really be analysing a downloaded image.

The Bahtinov image shows a very slight defocus, but not enough to have caused the elongation.

Unless collimation is really poor, elongation won't be due to focus error.

May be due to a Tracking or Polar Alignment error.

But not on an exposure of less than 5 secs, so not 100% sure what's going on.

Michael

Thanks. The elongation will be due to no tracking. 15 seconds exposures.

All images are from the same camera. But the one in question is from the live view screen on my computer. I am wondering if the live view function has something wrong with it?

cheers

Hello, and welcome to SGL

Looks like the diffraction pattern from your bahtinov mask indicates that the scope was well out of focus. Below is an easy visualization:

805532754_WithBahtinov.jpg.6dfb2a0ba888d8bb0038cfe0206dbd7daa.jpg.234feef6a3732c456b5a43f91d22ed88.jpg

The diffraction pattern really does need to be dead center, otherwise the shot will be out of focus. I actually find it much easier to ditch the bahtinov mask and just focus visually looking at star sizes, or better yet, looking at reported HFR values using some software (i use NINA).