SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

How to start?

CKP

I recently watched a YouTube video which got me interested in EAA. I know nothing about it at the moment but the lad in the video made it look easy! Rather than using a raspberry pi and the stellarmate products, would it be better to use my laptop and either sharpcap or jocular instead of buying extra components and software? Is it just a personal choice, do they all do the same thing equally?

Thanks

• Thanks 1

While there'll be differences in graphical user interface and functionality between software available for laptops and for the RPi, the main difference is going to be processing power (and some software will run on both the PC/Mac and RPi so it is possible to do a useability comparison directly). 

A hybrid option is to split the functionality into stuff done at the mount using the RPi (capture, focus, etc) and stuff done on the laptop/desktop, perhaps in a warm space...  I've no personal experience of remote operation myself but others such as @Steve in Boulder do this kind of thing very successfully. In some ways this seems like the ideal solution so long as data transfer is 100% reliable. 

Martin

PS welcome to SGL (from a Stokie)!

• Like 1

Thanks for replying @Martin Meredith I like how portable it looks in the video, but then I already have a laptop so was thinking if it would be worth the extra cost? I guess it is just personal choice.

By the way I'm currently working in Burslem!

Hi, I was fascinated by the video. Do you already have a telescope? The set up shown in the video is wonderfully portable but with such a small scope you might quickly find it is somewhat limiting.

Mike

• Like 1

My setup is similar but I use a WO Z61 and an Asiair. Still very much portable as the whole setup fits into one bag. Many on the azgti owners forum thread have similar setups with the little mount that can.

• Like 2

1 hour ago, CKP said: