SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

PLEASE HELP A NEWBIE DECIDE BETWEEN 80mm REFRACTOR VS 127mm REFLECTOR!

I'm very new to astronomy, but also a bit of a nerd and don't mind figuring the details out. I've been wanting a telescope for quite a while now, but I don't have a big budget. So as amazon prime day came I decided it was my time to strike.

Like I said I am new to telescopes, but the general idea I gathered is higher aperture = more detail = better. So I found this steal: https://amzn.to/3RHy1V5 When I bought it I got a slightly used one from amazon warehouse deals for around 100CAD final price. It had good reviews, had the best aperture for the price, so I was very satisfied.

However, later on I found another crazy deal: https://amzn.to/3Plnb4X For only 230CAD final price, I get a 127mm aperture! However, there are two problems. One, is that apparently reflector telescopes are harder to maintain. You need to "collimate" them (which I don't know how to do, but I'm willing to learn). You need them to cooldown. And this one had some scarier reviews, like bad eyepieces, a bad scope, they needed to be collimated, etc.

So now I've come to this point: I've decided to return the original 80mm refractor and buy the 127mm reflector. However after researching this topic some more I'm not sure if this was the correct move. I'm 18 and my budget is very limited so I'm anxious and worried. My main goals with the telescopes are to observe the moon and planets in maximum detail, and if I go to a low light pollution zone some time maybe some deeper space objects. Please help me! Do you think I will be able to figure out how to collimate the telescope? Do you think the 127mm aperture will be that much better than the 80mm one? Or perhaps I should cancel the 127mm one and opt for the safety of the 80mm?

• Like 1