SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Need advice

Hey guys,

I’m a total newbie with astronomy.

Been trying to decide between a couple different scopes.

I was trying to find a Sky Watcher Explore 200 PDS Telescope here in the US.

I contacted sky watcher and was told they don’t sell them here and suggested I look at the Quattro.

I did a search to find out what the difference between the Explore and the Quattro is and came across this forum.

The Quattro is their imaging Newtonian line.

The New Quattro 150P comes with the flattener. Do you really need the flattener? I read it’s about half the cost of the scope itself.

I’m not sure yet if the 200 P comes with a flattener.

Originally I wanted to get a Refractor Scope to look at the moon. But with further research a Reflector Scope looked more desirable. Not only can I look at the moon but with a Reflector I can search the beyond.

So do I get the

Explore 200 PDS

Quattro 200 P

Quattro 150

?

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Blue

Hi and welcome to SGL.

You should probably look at this model from SkyWatcher as good general purpose visual scope (no imaging):

http://skywatcher.com/product/dob-8-traditional/

Scopes that you've been looking are newtonian scopes mounted on Equatorial type mount. This type of mount can track the sky rather easily (single axis rotation) - either by hand or with simple electric motor, or you can get full fledged goto mount (that will find objects for you as well as track the sky). Drawback is setup time and fact that newtonian scope is not well suited for use on EQ type mounts for visual. This is because eyepiece gets into rather awkward positions and you need to rotate tube (in its rings) to make it accessible.