Narrowband

18 Months On and Look at the Difference!

Mid-Summer is a No-Go for imaging at my latitude because there's just too much light in the sky. So I spend my time processing stacks from other SGL members who kindly post them on here for the likes of me to play with, and re-processing my own past images.

Tonight I though I would re-visit NGC7023, The Iris Nebula. I took the images back in December 2020 (my original thread is HERE) and there was just over 5 hours worth of Subs. When I last processed this image, I hadn't had PixInsight that long and was still very much on the learning curve with this software and tried a few different things with it at the time.

18 months later and I'm still learning PI, but I have a much better understanding of how it works and I have a workflow which, I feel, produces good results. Some processes have made life much easier since I first worked on this image, NoiseXTerminator and StarXTerminator are two, but mainly is my use of Curves and more ability to drag out that finer detail.

And that's mainly what this thread is about, showing that as you get more experience with your processing software (no matter which one you use), the more you realise just how much detail you originally got in your data.

So, here's the before & after images.

This is the best processing I originally got from the data using PI and I was pleased with the results at the time:

1904317237_NGC7023-IrisNebula-06122020.png.b32150baae1dd281e85a6151f5cf820b.png

And this is the exact same data, only re-stacked (using DSS) & re-processed this evening. Notice how much extra dust is now visible in the image, the dust was always there, I just didn't know how to bring it all out. I feel the stars are also more controlled, have added colour and are less dominant in this version, allowing the nebula to be the focus of the image.

456388330_NGC7023-IrisNebula-06122020-5hrs.png.ff74f3c943d11abbb76e546d10008824.png