Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Stepping up to next telescope

Hi, 

Since getting into DSO imaging 18mths or so ago, I've been using a WO Zenithstar 61 on an ioptron Skyguider Pro. It's been great but am now stepping up to a beefier mount, namely the skywatcher eq6-r pro. What thoughts do people have regarding a larger scope? I would prefer to stick to a refractor for now and was thinking 90-100mm. I really like the build quality of the WO scopes and was thinking of a Fluorostar 91. I've been saving up but is the price tag justified? What are the options do you think?

Thanks

An EQ6-R is sound choice and opens up a lot of possibilities, even beyond an aperture of 90-100mm. Almost too many!

I have no experience with the fluorostar but I’m sure it’s a solid choice. It might be worthwhile deciding what focal length the targets you want to image are at. Then you can think about design of scope. Triplet with flattener and/ or reducer option. Maybe you would like a petzval type so you don’t need to mess about with backspacing etc. Focal ratio, weight, mechanics and accessories etc all come into the equation.

Then you need make sure that telescope is a good fit for your camera. Do the optics cover the sensor? What image scale does the combo give you?

There are just so many options right now it makes sense to have a methodical approach to narrow things down. Finally, buy from a reputable retailer that offers a good returns policy and support!

Good luck with the choice!

Edited by Icesheet

FLOs new SellaMia 90mm is highly rated and getting at reviews by imagers. Compare the StllaMira and Flouostar and they look the same except for the focuser.

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/stellamira-telescopes/stellamira-90mm-ed-triplet-f6-refractor-telescope.html

Edited by johninderby

I'm not sure about the build quality of WO scopes. I think they concentrate rather too much on making them look pretty, though there are certainly good ones. Anyway...