Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Star Trails even when tracking over 60 seconds

m0pxs

Hi newbie here,

I set up my new HEQ5 last night to get to grips with it, I polar aligned it via NINA successfully and thought I would have a go at the Pinwheel galaxy through my WO Z61, well I found it, centred it (using plate solving) and took a few test exposures using ASI533MC Pro, firstly at 30 seconds and 45 seconds all was fine, but at anything over a minute and there were various star trails, I checked eqmod and it was in sidereal mode and stated it was tracking. I then thought I could use PHD2 on my guide scope and AIS120MM Mini to clean things up, but it wouldn't calibrate and eventually when it did it appeared not to be able to make sufficient adjustments to keep things guided and then it just gave up. I eventually went on to image at 45 seconds for multiple subs and the result when stacked weren't bad, but anyone got any ideas why I can't get it to track properly either without PHD2 or even with PHD2 (I haven't adjusted any setting in PHD2), the scope is balanced in both RA and DEC.

In anticipation,

Phil

This is one of the 3 minute subs, the trails are top to bottom, whereas the 45 sub is perfect with perfectly round pinpoint stars. I know this one is of Bode's

2022-05-27_23-13-48_Gain-101_Exp-180.00__0000.jpg

Edited by m0pxs
additional info

You are experiencing periodic error in the RA axis since the trailing in your example is in that direction.

Periodic error exists in basically all equatorial mounts and is the number 1 reason why people generally use some kind of autoguider, and by doing so the problem is fixed.

If you dont want to guide you need to shoot exposures that are short enough to not be effected by periodic error. What length that is depends on the mount, target DEC, pixel scale and how much trailing you deem acceptable.