Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Mosaic help please

I am intending to put together a mosaic this summer, probably using ImageJ. 

Is the correct procedure to process the images first and then stick them together, or do you stick them together and then process the resulting mosaic image?

Only done one deep sky mosaic so far, with APP.

Was fairly straightforward, put all the subs and the calibration frames in and APP stitches them together into a single stack. Takes forever though as APP is quite slow for some reason.

• Like 1

20 minutes ago, Astro Noodles said:

Is the correct procedure to process the images first and then stick them together, or do you stick them together and then process the resulting mosaic image?

I have no experience of doing this in ImageJ but I have done a lot of mosaics in AstroPixelProcessor.

I've tried both approaches in APP and have found the best results are obtained by stacking, registering and integrating the individual panes and performing any light pollution correction and then combining the individual panes into the finished mosaic. APP does an amazing job of not only registering the individual panes (even from different camera/optics combinations) but also blending the background of the individual panes seemlessly.

P.S. This is the approach recommended in the Sara Wager tutorials using APP.

Edited by Adreneline
  • Like 4

@Astro Noodles

Look at this page:

https://imagej.net/plugins/image-stitching

I know I've done mosaics before and it was rather easy to do, but I don't remember which exact plugin I used for that. Try out any of those listed on the page or do search for further plugins - like

http://bigwww.epfl.ch/thevenaz/mosaicj/

@Elp

Extract_Background.class