Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help a newbie - eyepiece question

Hi everyone, I'm a novice at this game and I have some very basic questions!

I have an Orion Starblast ii as a Christmas present.  It's a reflector with a 450mm focal length and 114mm diameter.  f/4.0.  It came with Sirius Plossl eyepieces at 10mm and 25mm.  Had some excellent experience so far looking at the moon, but my youngest is absolutely crazy about planets (Saturn in particular) so I'd like to get the right accessories to help us look at the planets in more detail (Saturn's rings, jupiter moons, maybe even colours/spot on jupiter?). 

If I'm understanding things correctly (And Warthog's pinned post about eyepieces was really helpful) then I should be thinking about accessories to improve the magnification in order to see the things we're interested in, but on a fast f/4.0 scope it seems like a Plossl smaller than 10mm wouldn't be a particularly good idea?  So, I'm after a bit of help to make sure I don't make any silly errors with what I do next!!  I guess my current thinking would be to try to find a short eyepiece (~6mm) that has decent eye-relief, and maybe add a Barlow lens at some future point?

• Would a 6.2mm Plossl be too uncomfortable with the limited eye-relief?
  • If 6.2mm is a sensible size for what I want to do, are there any EPs that would be recommended?
  • Should I just get a barlow to go with the 10mm EP?  2x or 3x?
  • What should I be thinking about that I'm currently overlooking?

Long term, this will def be used for looking at the moon and planets.  It would be nice to expand that to interesting stars and other stuff later.  As for budget up to £50 would be easy, I could stretch to £100, maybe a little more for the *right* accessory if it makes a big difference to what we're trying to achieve.  Can easily get a few different things over a few months if that is the best use of my time and money too!

All help and advice very gratefully received!!!