Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help needed resolving tracking or guiding setup

Hi

I am new to astrophotography and am having some problems figuring out what is wrong with my current setup;

Edge HD 8" 0.7 reducer

AVX mount

Skywatcher Evoguide 50mm guide scope (may replace with OAG at some point, but know people do use guide scopes too with this setup)

ZWO 120 mm-s as guide camera

ZWO 533 main camera

Stellarmate and Kstars

Decided to take Bodes galaxy.

I did polar alignments using pole master camera and then did starsence alignment, was then able to do plate solving within few arch secs. so all seemed good.

I then made sure guide camera and main camera were best I could focus (still room from improvement)  and started stellarmate internal guiding.

The guiding seem to be good as RMS was low ra and dec, seemed to be guiding with 2 arc sec (much better the a 4/5 arch secs few weeks ago trying to polar align manually). 

I took about 1.5 hrs of 180sec sub exposures and each one looked good in kstars with little sign of star trail on each sub. I would of expected to have seen some if the guiding was not working.

So was happy, but on trying to stack the images using pixinsight the image turned out bad with massive star trailing. I also noticed the tracking does not seem to be keeping up with the target (bodes galaxy in these images) with it drifting over time when I did blink process. I assumed pixinsight would still be able to matchup stars and  align but it does not seem to work. The star drift must be too much.

Maybe someone experienced looking at these results will know straight away thats causing it or I have missed a step? Could it be guiding picking up hot pixels and not acutely tracking as expected? 

Stacked image.jpg

first image.jpg

last image.jpg

9 minutes ago, Aramcheck said:

Did you do Pixinsight's StarAlignment process before integrating (stacking)?

Cheers
Ivor