SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Glasses, eye relief, astigmatism ...

Froglord

I'm new to astronomy - just bought a Skymax 127 and I only have the included Super MA eyepieces (25mm and 10mm) which I'm looking to upgrade.

So far, I have been observing without my (varifocal) glasses because it seemed more natural. Then I remembered I have astigmatism in both eyes, so perhaps I should be putting on the specs after all! (I might try a slightly older, non-varifocal pair).

I think I wear my glasses slightly further away than many people do (comfort, eyelash issues), so what sort of eye relief will I need? 20mm? Even more? I was looking at the much-recommended BST Starguiders (I'm not looking to pay Tele Vue money) but will I find the 16mm eye relief too tight?

Also, will I really get the benefit if I splash out on a wide-field 68 degree eyepiece, or will my glasses restrict my FOV?

Any moderately-priced eyepiece recommendations gratefully received ...

Good questions! (and welcome!)

Using spectacles will always reduce the apparent field of view (AFOV) so ideally you won't want to wear them, but....

Its annoying to keep removing them!
You may need them to correct astigmatism.

Whether you need them for astigmatism depends on how bad yours is. I would say up to 1 diopter cylinder is OK without correction, but others will differ. Also the exit pupil size is critical. At high power, with say an exit pupil of 1 or 2 mm, correction probably isn't needed.

Varifocals are difficult to use. You must make sure you are looking completely through the distance section, even then it may not be good. Plus they are often made from plastics that can produce significant chromatic aberration.

Best if you can try a wide AFOV eyepiece before you 'splash' out. Its very personal. Without my spectacles I can use a 100 deg AFOV with 15mm eye relief. With the spectacles I reckon I can see only half the field. I take my specs off as I really want the full field.