Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

30th Birthday Present - What would you get with this budget?

Afternoon all, hope we're all making the most of this gorgeous weather this weekend!

I've heard through the grape vine that family want to get me a "dream" astronomy kit. I have also heard this budget is going to be in the region of £5,000

I'm no beginner to stargazing and very much enjoy using my 200P dob and Skymax 127 (when weather allows, of course). I particularly like the dob for deep sky, the mak for moon and can't wait to try it out on the planets when they're more favourably placed in the sky. When it comes to AP, however, I'm not even what I'd consider a beginner. I like to snap a few second exposures here and there using my phone and a mount for an eyepiece, but this isn't scratching that itch enough and I'm soon going to be making a purchase for my first AP OTA.  I feel like the direction I'm going toward is more photography, less visual, which is the opposite of what it is now. 

My garden is pretty much a no-go for stargazing, as it's quite heavily obstructed and light polluted. There is a small window of sky I can see and even that is heavily light polluted by close proximity street lighting. As such I normally like to take my kit out and about with me. I don't have a problem doing this at all - Up the shallow garden steps to the back gate and load the van up. I've normally got my 200P, 127 Mak and other kit in the van loaded ready to go within 10 mins. Physically I'm a fit young lad, physical job and in the gym regularly, so portability more comes down to "what can I fit in the van" than anything else.

So, what would you do? If your budget was £5k, what would you be spending it on?

Oh, you lost me at 'not visual'.

I couldn't recommend an AP kit, but visual, I can do that!

If it were my 5k, it'd be going on solar HA. Without a doubt.

But whatever you spend it on: happy birthday!

Edited by Roy Challen