Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First planet sighting..but which planet?

So lastnight I had the telescope in the back garden, pointing it at random stars and trying to figure out the focus etc. I am a complete newb to this!

I started with the brightest star in the north sky at about 8pm. I could see "something", but either I couldnt focus right or there is nothing to see.

I then moved to the opposite side of the sky, just east of where the moon would be at midnight. (I told you, newb, I havnt even looked at a starchart yet :) ) and targeted a less bight star.

Well...I was overwhelmed as I focused in. I could see a large dark cluster to the bottom right of the "object" that looked to me very much like the "eye of jupiter", craters and swirls. It was amazing!

Did I see Jupiter? Or...as my partner keeps saying...was it a speck of dust on the lense that I was seeing magnified?

I promise to study starcharts very soon and not be such a newb :):mad:

I found my first planet, by the moon, last night too. Only I thought it was Saturn.

I couldn't make out much detail though, I think the moon was too bright for me to make out the craters:D, but I definitely saw some rings round it.

Stars will appear just as points of light no matter how much you magnify them - unless they are out of focus though - then they can look like disks of light with swirls - that's the thermals in the atmosphere and the air currents in your scope tube. Perhaps that's what you saw ?.

John

That could be it, jahmanson. Man...you wouldnt think I am 34 next week would you, I am like a kid with a new toy with this thing, except it blows any toys I ever had far out the water :)

Im going to Lampeter for the weekend and taking it with me, I might have better luck up there!

I found my first planet, by the moon, last night too. Only I thought it was Saturn.