Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

EKOS on Astroberry - Running Out of RAM?

I've been trying the plate solving and guiding software in EKOS, on my Astroberry Pi (using the simulator mode).  When it comes to plate solving a star that I've chosen, it says there's no enough RAM to run in parallel in the message window, then locks up the whole EKOS/KStars programme.  I know that people have recommended running the RPi with 4GB of RAM, but I was only able to obtain a 2GB version.  I didn't foresee this problem, but I'm a newbie to the RPi.

Any recommendations?🤔

Turn your Pi into a headless pure INDI-server, and run Kstars/Ekos on a real computer. All the benefits, and a few bonuspoints to. You sit in your livingroom with a laptop or tower. You manage your rig over wireless, and get the pictures directly into the machine inside. Only bottleneck can be wireless speed, depends on your router. The Pi3 B+  should be able to transfer a 25mb sub in 5 seconds. You can always use ethernet, if distance is not to long.

I have a guide here -  http://www.agle.no/astro/kommeigang.html  - norwegian, so you'll probably understand zero, but you will get an idea of the path. You'll have to set the Pi up from the ground. Running Kstars/Ekos on a Pi sounds stupid in my ears. Slow on CPU-intensive tasks, and no real storage solution. Better use it where it shines, as a tool to tie your rig into one piece, and use proper computers to do the heavy lifting. In this way, you can check your subs as they roll in, delete, move, even stack, without beeing afraid of chooking the rig.

• Like 1

My Windows 8.1 laptop only has 2GB of RAM, so it has the same amount of RAM as my RPi 4B.  I need to look into this further...  Upgrading the laptop to Windows 10 isn't an option, as I tried that before and it was much slower.

Edited by Ian McCallum