Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Getting Used to Alt-az Mount

Sunshine

Since I acquired my Universal Astronomics mount I have had a few night (three) to get used to using a push to Alt-az as I have never used one before. At first I was a bit concerned trying to imagine me following a double at high power while physically moving the scope on both axis simultaneously, in my mind it seemed impossible yet many do it or I would not have purchased one. 

Now, after a few nights I am getting on quite well and am liking push to alt-az, it seems one of the tricks is getting the friction knobs just right, a bit too tight and any force applied causes a sudden jerk to break the static friction, not enough friction and the mount moves too easily when focusing. Looking up near zenith will take some more practice as it is a pain in the neck, literally. What I do find very convenient about a smooth push to alt-az is that I can move the scope without having to reach for the slow motion controls on my Vixen GP as they are not those long floppy slow mo knobs (can’t stand those things) I was able to move the scope with my hands as I cupped my hands around the eyepiece. 

So far it has been quite pleasant learning how to get in with this mount, I’m sure that as time goes by I will become more adept at using it, I look forward to any advice other push to alt-az users can dispense.

Clear skies!

Edited by Sunshine
  • Like 3

Good stuff, glad you are getting to grips with the mount. I have used totally manual AltAz mounts for years and find them delightfully simple to use. Yes, there is some work to do balancing the scope properly and adjusting clutches, but for quick grab and go use they are great. There is an attraction about not having to turn two different controls to track an object.