Narrowband

Where to begin!?

Hello all. New to the forum, returning to astronomy and absolutely no clue where to start!!

I have a Skywatcher 114/900 telescope, I’d say it’s pretty much standard as I haven’t used it for years and have never really added anything to it.

I used to be a keen beginner (beginner as in knew barely anything about astronomy). I’d really like to get back into the hobby but I don’t know what my next steps should be.

What extras are a necessity for my telescope? What equipment/books/reading material/apps, should I purchase?

Everything I have for my telescope is bog standard which I know is very limited. I’m not in a position to purchase a more expensive telescope, but I’d like to maximise my current telescopes potential.

I’d really appreciate anybodys help and advice.

Thank you

A couple books and eyepieces should get you going somewhat. Use books and other reading material to learn how and where to find objects, like star hopping techniques, asterisms etc. A simple pair of binoculars like 8x50s would help a lot with the star hopping. There are a number of free apps like Stellarium and Skysafari which are great. This, along with a couple decent plossls, should get you seeing some interesting objects, and more importantly fuel that enthusiasm! 

19 hours ago, BrightestStar said:

What extras are a necessity for my telescope? What equipment/books/reading material/apps, should I purchase?

Over and above what has been said above, get to know your equipment so you can use it to its fullest potential.  You will soon realise its shortcomings (nothing is perfect) and then can make informed decisions on what to purchase. In the scope such as yours the common areas for improvement that will be suggested are an upgrade to a steadier mount and the eyepieces. But learn first 🙂

Edited by AstroMuni

Hi,