Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

portable rig for astrophotography and visual

Hi there! 

I'm just about to order my first scope from FLO. I did some research and I think I finally made my mind up in terms of the 2 main components - Evostar 72ed + AZ GTI

I have zero experience with night sky and observing night sky objects so I'll be using this setup mostly to get myself familiar with it first. I've chosen this rig cos it's very lightweight and quite versatile as far as I'm aware. This is fairly important to me as I will be soon living full time in a camper and because I'll most likely find myself in quite remote places, I'd like to try astrophotography as well in the near future. I believe both the telescope and the mount with a firmware update (EQ mode) are fully capable of doing so (unlike me at the moment). Due to limited space and budget I'd rather have one portable setup than two. Do you think it's a right setup and a right way to go? How about 80ed? Would longer focal length and higher aperture be any better? It only weights slightly more than 72ed so AZ GTI should handle it pretty well too. Plus with all add-ons FLO offers now it actually seats in the same price range as 72ed  

Which brings me to my second question - accessories. Obviously the scope and the mount is not enough so before I place the order I'd like to ask you about some necessary accessories. What do I need to start with?
For visual, do I need anything more than just a diagonal and an eyepiece? Which of them would you recommend? I see there are quite a few diagonals in FLO's offer, not sure what to look at when choosing one. Then eyepiece, would 28mm be ok? It'd give me 15x magnification on 72ed or 21x on 80ed. And lastly, barlow lenses and finder scope? Are they needed?