SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Easy Help Requested

I've recently inherited a sky watcher reflector (see attached) and various buts & pieces including the mount and I have a few questions ...

1. Can someone tell if me if this is an astrophotography reflector?  

2. It's been in the loft for a few years and I'm leaving it for a few days somewhere dry and warm but I may need to clean the mirror. any advice welcome?

I'm no expert but not clueless either.

SkyWatcher.png

It's a standard Skywatcher Explorer 200P - 8" f5  Newtonian Reflector.  It seems to have the standard focuser which would suggest it's not the PDS version which was more suited for taking images with.  That said you should be able to use the scope for astrophotography, provided the mount is suitable 

Nice scope to inherit! Don't rush to be cleaning the mirror until you're sure, there are various threads on here and tutorials if you need them though. Post a photo of the mirror and folk will give you an idea how badly it needs cleaning.

Looks like the focuser rubbers have gone AWOL but nothing to be concerned about, a couple of big o-rings or similar can replace them.

Edited by wulfrun
added sentence
  • Like 1

thanks for the replies, the mirror appears quite clean now it's warmed up and dried out so will leave this for now. I'm looking at http://www.opticalvision.co.uk/astronomical_accessories-motor_drives_and_goto_upgrades/enhanced-dual-axis-motor-drive-for-eq5-mount.html to help with long exposure AP but  I need to check other items I may need to attach the DSLR and get it in focus. At 68, this is real excitement!

Just now, fozzybear said:

with the scope you have it is rather long and will be affected by wind and if you want to do AP maybe save your cash and look at a second hand HEQ5 or better

• Like 1

30 minutes ago, tickmatrix said: