SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Did you watch the 1969 moon landing?

journo_student

Hi there, my name's Kate and I'm a journalism student studying in Sheffield. As a final year project I'm creating a magazine which includes historical accounts and am really interested in writing a feature on the 1969 moon landing.

I'd very much like to find someone UK based (near Sheffield would be even better) who would be willing to speak to me about staying up most of the night in 1969 to watch man take their first steps onto the moon.

If you've got a pretty good memory of the night, the emotions of watching it and feel you could paint a picture of the experience to someone who didn't witness it then please get in contact with me by private message or reply to this thread.

Many thanks, Kate

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I was 9 years old but I can't remember staying up all night - I did see the recorded footage at school the next morning where a big TV had been set up in our dining hall (an event in itself !). I also recall going out of the house that evening, looking up at the moon and thinking - "wow ! - there are men on there right now !".

Some of the older kids set up a newsdesk at school and had models of the spacecraft, maps of the moon with the landing site plotted etc. Just like the BBC coverage with Partick Moore, James Burke etc !!

Great memories - thanks for "jogging" them :)

John

Hi Kate,

Not near Sheffield but I do remember watching it.

I was home on leave from the Royal Navy at the time.

Whoa! it was magical. I had been into astronomy for 11 years when 11 landed on the Moon. I was stunned into silence. I would put this down to one of the moments of my lifetime.

Sorry for going on a bit. MAGICAL.

Glen.

i was 5 2/3 (hey the 2/3 was important back then :) ) and i have been eternally gratefull that my parents kept me up (and awake) to watch the landing.