Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Where's the achromatic aberration coming from?

Noob here, forgive with my ignorance :p

On a reflector telescope, the achromatic aberration can only come from the eyepieces, correct?

Since all eyepieces are made of lenses, they all have achromatic aberration, so, which eyepiece types have less (or correct it more)?

There's a lot of information about the telescopes lenses and mirrors, but very little about the eyepieces...

There's also something curious I found out on high power eyepieces: it seems that on a 4mm eyepiece you can see exactly the same "viewing area" as the 25mm eyepiece, still, since the hole of the eyepiece is so tiny, you can only see the center, the remaining image can only be viewed by "peeking" at an angle. that totally surprised me lol

Edited by clafann1

Yes, a reflector shouldn't be introducing CA, though certain designs (Jones-Bird) also include lenses within the telescope.

There are several kinds of optical distortion that may be introduced by an eyepiece. A specific design will usually trade off one against another. In a decent modern eyepiece, you shouldn't be seeing CA so bad that it's a problem.
These are some introductions to eyepiece distortions here:

http://uncle-rods.blogspot.com/2015/09/are-my-eyepieces-good.html

http://websites.umich.edu/~lowbrows/reflections/2007/dscobel.27.html

https://www.cloudynights.com/topic/795988-how-to-evaluate-or-compare-eyepieces/?p=11463451

1 hour ago, clafann1 said:

There's also something curious I found out on high power eyepieces: it seems that on a 4mm eyepiece you can see exactly the same "viewing area" as the 25mm eyepiece, still, since the hole of the eyepiece is so tiny, you can only see the center, the remaining image can only be viewed by "peeking" at an angle.