Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Greetings from the Northern Great Plains!

Astric Celestiustolls

Hello all, my name is Joseph Cooper and my wife Katherine and I are new to the amateur astronomy hobby. Admittedly, we are "pandemic astronomers". We, along with our two cats, Chancellor and Duke, are currently living in Jamestown, North Dakota as I am a federal government soil scientist with the USDA's Natural Resources Conservation Service. My wife is a distance student with the University of North Dakota underway on her MA in Counseling after recently earning a BA in Psychology and a BS in Family and Human Development, simultaneously. I apologize for my username, but I hope that any fellow soil scientists appreciate the blend of astronomy and soil taxonomy! We are originally from the Seattle-Tacoma region, specifically Kitsap County across the Puget Sound. With the light from the city and the rainy weather, it was not until I enlisted into the US Army as a field artilleryman that I saw unadulterated views of the night sky in Colorado, and, of course, later in Iraq and Afghanistan when the desert haze was absent. After my military service, I used my veteran's educational benefits to earn a BS in Environmental Science and an MS in Agricultural and Life Sciences. I also have a Graduate Certificate in Horticultural Science. Besides Colorado Springs, Colorado, we have also lived in: Madison, Wisconsin; Fresno, California; Toledo, Ohio; and Aberdeen, South Dakota. It was the visit from Comet Neowise in 2020 while in South Dakota that we realized that we were wasting these pristine skies of the Northern Great Plains. The clear skies at night here are just fine for the naked eye, but our curiosity has gotten the best of us. Now that we are just up the road in North Dakota, we have prepared for skygazing in 2022. 2021 was a little too busy for us with yet another move, but we will be ready this time! In this post is a picture of a spot that we are prospecting