Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Deep sky with a DMK

zcapp96

Just thought I would post these I took about ten months ago. At the time all I had was a DMK21 firewire (Have since pinched the misses 350D!). These were all taken through a 200mm skywatcher explorer and a driven, though not goto, eq5. I cannot remember exactly how long the subs were but I think they were in the region of 20s. I know that any longer used to give me star trails. There was also only about 5 minutes or so in total for each. There was also no dark frames or flats (I was a very green beginner at that stage!). I think that these are not too bad all considered. I know their not going to get me picture of the week but anyone on a tightish budget and with out the funds for a decent DSO ccd could do a lot worse than consider one of these DMK's. I would be interested to hear if anyone more experienced has got better results.

M13 post-14636-133877359338_thumb.jpg

M51 post-14636-133877359343_thumb.jpg

M57 post-14636-13387735935_thumb.jpg

M101 post-14636-133877359354_thumb.jpg

M104 post-14636-133877359357_thumb.jpg

Just goes to show what can be achieved. I am glad you posted these, I have been toying with the idea of using a smaller mono camera to capture the luminances, then add in the colour from another camera via registar. It would give me an option to get in closer on smaller targets, and your images indicate that the level of detail necessary might very well be available, thanks very much.

TJ

TJ,

These are interesting to me since I have a DMK-31 that I've only used for lunar and Saturn until now. I would like to know what settigns you used for M57 or M51? You mentioned only 20 sec. subs...that's about all I can get with my Alt/Az mount before star trailing shows up. Good job on these, thanks for posting.

Doug

This is something that I would like to do, and i think your images are great!