SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Guiding Problems - Poor Polar Alignment?

I'm not sure exactly where to post this, so apologies if it's in the wrong place...

There was a couple of hours of clearish sky, promised last night.  I bought out the EQ5 Deluxe mount with Enhance dual axis motor drives (mouthful), used a spirit level to get the tripod level and used a compass app on my phone to get a bearing of due North.  I polar aligned the best I could, through the polar scope and added the mount.  Once I got everything attached and the ZWO ASI 120MM mini guide camera attached to the guide scope, I then set up the RPi (with Astroberry loaded).

I focused to tracking the Orion Nebula, but it was a bit hit and miss with clouds rolling by.  I don't think my guide was good enough, perhaps due to polar alignment. 

Could someone take a look at these screenshots and logs and let me know what you think, please?🤔  Please be gentle, I'm new to guiding and AP.😛😂

2022-01-29-202239_1920x1080_scrot.png

2022-01-29-203219_1920x1080_scrot.png

PHD2_DebugLog_2022-01-29_200609.txt PHD2_GuideLog_2022-01-29_200609.txt

Your problem looks more like dec backlash.

Your calibration is also not great. Did you calibrate on your target? The rates indicate not but that could be due to any number of things. The dec rate vs RA rate indicate calibration at a declination of around 33 degrees