Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help with setup

Kenboy

Hi all! Happy weekend 

I'm a beginner, hoping to get some good shots today 

I have an astro modified Canon 550d on Sky-Watcher star adventurer tracker & Canon 50mm f/1.8 lens, Bortle 4 sky 

Any suggestions for my camera ISO and exposure length? Would you suggest ISO 800, or higher? 

Thanks ! 

I've never used the 600D (same sensor as yours) with a lens. With telescopes I use ISO800 (supposedly the sweet spot for this cameras) and the exposure time depending on the target and the conditions. As a starting point, take pictures with different durations and looking at the histogram choose the exposure time that places the peak between 1/3 and 1/2 of the scale. Don't forget to take flat frames at the end of the session. Stack, post-process and enjoy.

HTH

• Like 1

I used my 600d with a 135mm Carl Zeiss lens, which was much slower than your 50mm. I had it on a Omegon Minitrack, which could only manage subs of about a minute before star trailing. I always used either iso 800 or 1600, with some decent results.

You will probably manage longer subs than me with your mount/lens combination. Personally I would start off at iso800, as  that is the sweet spot for that sensor

• Like 1

I think ISO800 is a good starting point, however as far as I remember this Canon 50/1.8 lens requires to be stopped down. Just make several images of some star field with the same EV to compare, so f/2 at 30s, f/2.8 at 60s, f/4 at 120s and then inspect the images on the monitor to find out the optimal f stop, when stars look good. 

Edited by drjolo
  • Like 1