SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Optics Quality, Telephoto Lens Vs Telescope, which is better for DSO astrophotography

Hi Everyone. I'm a beginner so have a beginner question, which may have been previously answered, so hope you will forgive me if that is the case. 

I'm trying to determine which would be better for DSO astrophotography, a telephoto/zoom lens or a telescope? I'm just interested in the optics, not other issues such as cost (other issues will mitigate cost issues) or weight.  I simply would like to know, for a given focal length and aperture size (hence f number), which would be better, a telephoto lens or a telescope, or is there no difference (forgetting price and weight)?

By better, I mean which would, (a) produce the better-quality images and (b) require the least amount of time to produce a given quality image. The reason I ask is that a telephoto/zoom lens will have lots of lenses in the OT, for example 11 lenses in 7 groups, while a telescope would have perhaps 4 lenses in 3 groups. With the light going through so much more glass in the telephoto/zoom lens, does this effectively slow-down the lens compared to an equivalent telescope i.e., require longer exposure times, even though the same f number, and at the same time, does it potentially improve the quality of the image? 

For arugments sake, compare a quality 200mm F/2 telephoto/zoom lens with a quality 200mm F/2 telescope.

There is no such thing as quality 200mm F/2 telescope.

Telescope will optically be always better than lens. Telescopes are diffraction limited (not always) and lenses are not.

When you start making telescopes very fast - you start lowering their optical quality. Take for example RASA at F/2 - it is no longer diffraction limited telescope - in fact it has at least twice lower resolution than aperture would suggest.

Speed is not reflected in F/number alone. Sometimes F/6 telescope can be faster than F/4 telescope and even F/2 telescope.