SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Session 5 for 2022

Davesellars

Session 13th Jan
Scope: 12" Dob

Session 5 for this year was moon observing!  I'm a complete noob at observing the Moon  :) Therefore I spent a bit of time on google and found a good page listing 12 targets:

https://astronomy.com/news/observing/2020/01/explore-12-great-lunar-targets

I popped these targets in to Sky Safari and added a couple of others for good measure...  prepared, it was time to start around 9pm.

For this part I started with the Pentax XW 5mm but quickly switched to a 4mm TMB Optical Planetary II giving 300x

Clavius - Not too far away from the terminator this was showing really clearly.  Craterlets J,N,Y,C,D,T,X and K all very clear.  I enjoyed the "route" walking down from this towards Tycho via Maginus.

Plato - Perhaps not the best (too much illumination?) for attempting to see the small craterlets however I could just about make out some pock-marks in the extremely flat featureless crater.

Archimedes - Nice visual on this spotting a couple of the craterlets.  The nearby Montes Spitzbergen highlighted especially well.

Thor's hammer - Not the offical name (as it doesn't see to have one).  However it a feature just to the south (normal way up) of Mons Piton that looks unmistakenly like a mallet.  Not too difficult to see but it rather an impression on the surface that needs the sharpness and reasonable power to make out the shape well.

Back down to Plato it's a short stroll to...