Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Bortle 5 - benefits (choice) of which NB filter to get

SimM

I have a colour camera ASI294MC with an Esprit 100 F/5.5 scope and flattener. I'm also a newbie for imaging. Even so, I want to try using filters for narrow band targets - for me that is a new thing. Some choices in astro gear seem pretty clear cut, this one not so simple.

I have a 1.25" UV/IR Cut filter for putting inside the 21mm extension tube that comes with the ZWO. Now a second filter to replace it. There is an adapter ring that is 1.25" to T2 that takes no back focus and places the filter right in front of the sensor cover. I bought a 1.25" Optolong L-Pro broad band filter with the aim of reducing sky pollution and the effects of the moon but without an obvious hit to integration time.

I don't have any street lights and live about 5 miles from the nearest town and about 12 miles from the nearest large city. I'm not sure how to ascertain the true Bortle level but maps show it as Bortle 4 although I have my suspicions that it is higher e.g. closer to Bortle 5 in reality.

I'm looking at trying narrowband imaging and was looking at either the L-eNhance or L-eXtreme filters. At first I thought it was simply a case of picking the "new and improved" whiz-bang L-eXtreme, but after reading conflicting views I'm not so sure. On the one hand, it is claimed to be night and day better but equally the question of halos artefacts crops up. So the question is how much benefit will either filter provide and are the side effects of the L-eXtreme something to live with in exchange for perhaps increased contrast on moonlit nights? I was lucky enough to be given an L-eNhance filter, bought from FLO but I'm considering returning it to get the L-eXtreme - if that is a better choice and the additional cost is not so great with this size. There are other filters like IDAS but they are not available in my preferred size of 1.25".