Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Skywatcher 130ps Dslr no focus

Hedlund

Hello I am a beginner in telescopes and astronomy and also here on this forum. I have a Skywatcher 130ps with az-gti headmount. Which I used for a while and I'm happy. But thought of trying to photograph the sky so I bought a used Canon eos 450d, as well as a t2 ring with accessories to mount on the telescope. The problem is that I do not manage to get any focus with the camera. Then bought a low profile T2 ring for the camera, it got a little better, but still far from good focus. Also tested a barlow lens and even this I do not get a good focus with. Have tried reading on forums and realized that this type of telescope and mount is not the best for camera photography, but some have still managed to photograph with these telescopes. Have seen that some move the primary mirror a few centimeters to get better focus. Is this something I can test with my telescope? Or is there something else but can do? I am a beginner in this, am grateful for all the answers.

Hi and welcome to SGL.

What version of the 130 do you own, P or PDS? The focuser (and its height) is different depending on the model. If you have the 130P you could have not enough inwards travel distance to reach focus. The PDS version is designed for astrophotography, hence the shorter focuser. 

Hi, the mount you have is being used by members to image with either in altaz mode or eq mode (eq with the available firmware change). It looks like you are running short of inward focus travel. Often using a barlow gets round this, what is you barlow x2? 

Edited by happy-kat

Okay, I have checked a bit on this, just need to find the mounts here in Sweden to turn to eq mode. I have tested with a barlow that I had and it is a barlow x5. No, unfortunately I did not get a lens for the camera.