Narrowband

NBZ filter problem

MartinB

I am new to the NBZ filter.  I bought it to use with my ZWO 2600MC camera coupled to either a 200mm F2.8 or a 135mm F2 lens.  I have managed one image using the 200mm lens without any significant problems.  This week I have made a start on a widefield Orion project using the 135mm lens (also using an Asiair Plus for the first time).  I have found that the focal point for red differs from blue and green.  I am attaching images through a Bahtinov mask

Mask_red_focus.jpg.55c5a1bcdf3122ee8500525d29553363.jpg

This image has the blue and green in focus.  The red spikes are fuzzy and the central spike is over to the right.  This focus produces ugly red halos.

Mask_compromise.jpg.c01758ba499d575697776ad2ce5eb50a.jpg

The above image is a compromise with the blue and green central spike to the left and the red a little over to the right.  This diminishes the halos but the stars are slightly off focus

1113945463_M45cyanfocus.thumb.jpg.4d489f8afd3e8a9e17c1118312c5919a.jpg

This cropped M45 image shows the effect of focussing blue and green

M45_red_focus.thumb.jpg.c30aec545e6212cedd88804e1a94da71.jpg

The above has the red closer to focus.  The halos have gone but the stars are distorted, out of focus and overly cyan.  Obviously the filter is inappropriate for a broadband target like this but I was investigating prior to Orion appearing.

Below is an Orion image.  For this I got a compromise focus using the mask but then removed this and made tiny adjustments looking at a small dim star.  This seems to be the best approach but the stars still aren't perfectly focused and are slightly distorted even in the centre so I don't think this is a lens issue.

M42_hh_M78_small (1 of 1).jpg