Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Filters for a skywatcher heritage 150p (6" dob)

Hi.

After finally getting a clear night after what feels like months off cloud cover I finally managed to take my skywatcher heritage 150p (virtuoso) scope outside again for a spot of observing. 

I'm a beginner and my current goal is to target some nebulae.

It was a very chilly night so i focused on m42 as my first target using my svbony 7-21mm and it was beautiful to see.  I was able to make out some of the nebula structure and zoom in on the Orion Trapezium Cluster.

I've since  been looking into getting a filter to get a clearer view of the nebula and future nebula tagets.  From my googling so far it points me at purchasing a uhc filter.

As there are a few options on the market I was hoping to get some opinions from anyone with a similar scope on the benefit of a uhc filter and whether the more expensive Astronomik UHC Filter (£89) would be worth getting over a Explore Scientific UHC Nebula Filter (£47) or Castell UHC Ultra High Contrast Filter (£38).

These seem to be the ones which come up time and again on forums but any opinions on other filters for nebula observation for this type of scope would also be welcome and greatly appreciated. 

Thank you

• Like 2

I’ve been enjoying M42 also with the Heritage 150p over the past couple of clear nights. I’ve tried a basic UHC filter on it and it does provide a good view - showing for example the trapezium stars as a blue-green. I’ve also compared with a Baader OIII filter. At 6” the UHC for me provided a better view as is a broadband filter so still offers a fairly bright view  - but, and it’s a personal view, I find Orion better without a filter. The UHC is regarded as a good all round nebula filter though and works well on other targets. 
the one I have is:

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/uhc-oiii-visual-filters/uhc-filter.html