SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

From a tracker to a permanent observatory in a village: advice needed

Hi! My name is Alejandro but you will find me as @aleixandrus in the web. I'm a landscape/nightscape photographer based in Spain. I've checked this forum many times in the past but I never registered. Well, now it's time for that :)

I'm about to move to a new house with garden in mid 2022 so I plan to go 'full' into astrophotography. My mid term goal is to build a small observatory/shed to control all equipment from home so I need a bit of advice to avoid unnecessary mistakes.

1. Location: It is a very small town with Bortle 4 skies (SQM 20.70 - World Atlas 2015 and Radiance 14.41 - VIRRS 2021) according to the Light Pollution Map. The house is in the middle of the town, with some streetlights around. Free horizon is ~25º except to the North (~35º) but I need to check this better as some trees/streetlights may be in the FoV once I place the mount. There is a 100k city towards the West at 10km straight line. The area is quite horrible in terms of clear skies. Average yearly data: 140 days with precipitation (plus cloudy days), 75% (summer) to 85% (winter) relative humidity, 4-25ºC minimum/maximum temperatures.

2. Current equipment: Sky-Watcher Star Adventurer + Sony a7III (unmodded) + some 16mm to 200mm f2.8 camera lenses. I had the Samyang 135mm f2 and a Newton 900/114 EQ1 fully manual in the past.

3. Knowledge: I love shooting nightscape pics of the Milky Way and wide field astrophoto with that tracker. I know the rudiments of astrophotography and I've used a GoTo mount a few times. I use DeepSkyStacker and Photoshop without much trouble. I also started using PixInsight but I'm a completely newbie right now.