SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Controlling EQ6R using USB

IDM

Hi,

I have just bought a brand new EQ6R mount which has 2 USB sockets 1 in the hand controller and the second in the mount.

I am trying to connect  the mount to my laptop so it can be controlled by Stellarium. I have downloaded the Ascom driver for the mount and tried following the various guides which talk about EQMod. However, whatever I do does not work. I suspect that EQmod is something to do with serial data rather than USB but I am very new to this. I would be very grateful for any advice or help.

Thanks

Ian

5 hours ago, IDM said:

serial data rather than USB

Hi

Yes, that's it. Easier and more reliable to simply lose the hand controller and use this ftdi cable instead between computer to mount. There's a usb to serial chip in the plug.

Cheers and HTH.

Edited by alacant
ortografía
  • Like 1

You don't need a fancy cable, EQMOD and ASCOM drivers are all you need along with a bog standard USB cable.

I just set up a new mini pc to control mine (AZ-EQ6 but essentially the same) so will dig out the links i used to set it all up again

Start here for ASCOM:

https://ascom-standards.rg/    Link at the RHS for 6.5SP1

Then you need EQMOD:

http://eq-mod.sourceforge.net/eqaindex.html

and follow the links to download or just go here direct:

https://sourceforge.net/projects/eq-mod/files/EQASCOM/

I think that should be all you need then in Cartes du Ciel or whatever choose the ASCOM HEQ5/6 driver.

Edited by scotty38
  • Like 1

1 hour ago, scotty38 said:

You don't need a fancy cable, EQMOD and ASCOM drivers are all you need along with a bog standard USB cable.

I just set up a new mini pc to control mine (AZ-EQ6 but essentially the same) so will dig out the links i used to set it all up again

Start here for ASCOM:

Then you need EQMOD:

I think that should be all you need then in Cartes du Ciel or whatever choose the ASCOM HEQ5/6 driver.