Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Skywatcher Star Discovery motor controller firmware update?

smd100

Hi, 

Newbie here - can anyone please help?

I have acquired a Skywatcher Star Discovery mount (shown here - https://skywatcheraustralia.com.au/product/150-750-star-discovery-pro-synscan-reflector/) with an external plugin wifi adaptor.

I have successfully updated the firmware on the wifi adaptor to v1.07 (first item on this page http://skywatcher.com/download/software/accessories/ )

Now I am trying to update the motor controller firmware - when I run the motor controller firmware loader (second item on this page - http://skywatcher.com/download/software/motor-control-firmware/ ), it reports that my motor controller firmware is v2.18.A2 (very old). The 4th item on this page says "Motor controller firmware for the AZ-GTi, AZ-GTe, Virtuoso GTi, Skyliner series Dobsonian GOTO(with Wi-Fi) and Star Discovery(with Wi-Fi) mounts" - and is version 3.36.

But when I try to update the firmware using the firmware loader software, it says "Not a valid motor controller firmware file".

Where is the latest motor controller firmware for my Star Discovery GOTO mount?

Thanks for any advice...
SMD

Edited by smd100
Links didn't work properly

56 minutes ago, smd100 said:

Hi,   Newbie here - can anyone please help?

Where is the latest motor controller firmware for my Star Discovery GOTO mount?

Hi smd, welcome aboard the lounge :) and I'll try :)

The simple answer is "I dont know"  ! But ,,,  I am going to guess, the 2nd and 3rd links you give dont work, hence the guess; that you are trying to use a 'motor controller firmware' for the later  integrated-wifi-Discovery which may have different motor controllers to those in the early version ?

You need to look in those pages for a motor controller firmware for the  early  Discovery.  the non-integrated-Discovery.

Did the mount not work with the original firmware ?