SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Celestron 130 SLT Alignment fail and fail and fail.

Hello All,

I am just starting out and bought the Celestron 130 SLT. It’s been a month to the day and no matter what I try and followed all the suggestions, I cannot get a successful alignment. Here is my list of things I have taken care of:

Used an external battery source.

Set the scope due North and horizontal.

Tripod is perfectly levelled.

Checked the mount is on right side of tube when standing behind.

Factory reset handset and started from scratch.

Used actual coordinates instead of City database. Confirmed coordinates by two sources - Google Maps and Skywalk.

Ensured coordinates go in the right way.

Used precise time from time.is and no daylight savings.

I live in Dubai so time zone is 4.

Tried two star and Auto two star. With two star, after 2nd star is aligned, scope keeps spinning in circles. Auto 2 star suggests a second star that I can’t see, manually selected the star. Alignment fails.

Skyalign - fails every time except a  few times I did get “Match Confirmed” “Press Back….Enter” each time when I do it says Alignment failed.

Tried planet alignment with Jupiter. Scope goes into continuous spin after alignment.

I think that’s about everything and I have done this over and over again.

Could someone please help.

AK

4 hours ago, Ash1e said:

Set the scope due North and horizontal.

You don't need to do that with a Celestron mount. But I doubt this is an issue.

4 hours ago, Ash1e said:

With two star, after 2nd star is aligned, scope keeps spinning in circles

Mine never did that. This suggests that your mount has a fault.

4 hours ago, Ash1e said:

Skyalign - fails every time except a  few times I did get “Match Confirmed

The Skyalign fails if one or more of the stars used are not in the alignment star shortlist.

4 hours ago, Ash1e said:

Tried planet alignment with Jupiter. Scope goes into continuous spin after alignment.