Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Generic ASCOM serial port driver?

wobblewing

Hi all,

Further to my DIY EQ platform (thread here )....

I've got some experience using this now and have managed some reasonably decent tracked DSO images with the 150p dobsonian.

I'm now working on a few mods.  Namely an addition of a Declination trim adjustment by tipping the 'scope, but also a serial interface so I can potentially add guiding to the mix.

Since I can create full serial control via a COM port profile over USB (easy with a micro:bit), what I'd like is a generic ASCOM driver which squirts pulse positioning string out to the serial port, thereby allowing the EQ platform to be controlled by software such as APT.

Does anyone know if such a driver exists.  Of course, it may be possible just to grab a skywatcher (or any) driver, but it would be easier if a very basic one has already been written with the serial commands documented (since commercial drivers will not be documented).  All it needs is something like RA+, RA-, DEC+, DEC- control over serial..

Anyone know of one?  I've done a bit of searching, but get lost in ASCOM documentation without it leading me to a useful generic and basic serial driver....

Thanks!

Andy

Edited by wobblewing

Andy, not read your other thread, but would it not be simpler to try and customise EQMOD or GSServer as the ASCOM compliant driver to handle communications between software and the mount ?  As both are open source the documentation may be handy in developing your own driver ?

I'll have a look at that, Thanks Malcom.

I'm not much of a Software developer, so was hoping to grab something that I could find on github somewhere and then write the mount end code to match the commands in the driver! 🙂

Edited by wobblewing