Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Excellent White light seeing!!

Victor Boesen

I have become a proud owner of a Baader classic 10mm ortho (gifted by my girlfriend:thumbright:) and a Baader solar continuum filter after Christmas. Yesterday and today the weather has been excellent and today I spent a good amount of time outside trying out my new equipment! Today I started out in H-alpha actually where I studied the active regions on the disk. There were some smaller filaments and an active region disappearing on the limb had a lot of activity going on.

IMG_20211226_115153_copy.thumb.jpg.454ae8cf2645e8aecafb6c53ec2b74b5.jpg
Todays location: A field at my grandparent's house where Christmas was held this year:laugh: This is also where I spent a couple hours last night and where I'm planning to do the same tonight:)

I then switched to white light with my new 10mm ortho and Solar Continuum filter and it quickly became obvious how good the seeing was. I was able to easily focus and granulation snapped into focus among the large active regions on the disk. One thing I've noticed about the solar continuum is that faculae seems brighter and easier to observe under higher magnifications compared to using my OIII. The great seeing immediately struck me as I switched to my Es 82 degree eyepieces to increase magnification, 8.8mm, 6.7mm and then my 4.7mm (152X). As I noticed the seeing still allowed for higher magnification, I reached for my rather old and cheap barlow to use with my 10mm ortho. The view, once again, snapped into focus albeit a little more time was spent reaching perfect focus at this magnification (178.5X). At this magnification the view was still very comfortable and the penumbra of AR2916 looked beautiful. The umbra, while quite dark, showed hints af uneven brightness.

IMG_20211226_122021.thumb.jpg.e3cecc91791223e978c32f3204f6fa51.jpg