Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

ZWO ASI178MC...is this a decent first camera for DSO astrophotography

dazzystar

Hi Daz,

I have the 178MC and it's an excellent performer if you're looking to do planetary, lunar and solar imaging.

For DSOs (nebulae, galaxies, globular clusters, etc.) however, I'd urge you to look at a cooled camera. The 178MC only comes as non-cooled and would yield significant thermal noise when pushed for long exposures.

If you want to stick with ZWO, the 183MC Pro is their least expensive cooled option and as luck would have it, I have one of those myself! It too is excellent, but not without its caveats (strong amp glow, needs a dew band if you live in high humidity locales, not the best QE or full well). Still, for 900 buckaroos, it's excellent value for the money.

Thanks for the reply. I'm not wedded to ZWO it's just that it appears they are used by most people. I'm new to the hobby so welcome any other brands which offer similar quality and functionality and perhaps for less money! Cooled cameras are way out of my price league at the moment, even used models!!!

I started with the ASI178MC & it was good to practice (esp for clusters) but cooled cameras really do make a difference (particularly for DSOs).

The 178MC has a small chip so you may not get the benefit of the full FOV the Evo50 gives.  Are you using a flattener with the Evo50?  If not, then there is quite a bit of curvature so a small chip won't actually be a bad thing b/c you'll only get the centre of the FOV.  If you are using a flattener, then if its the Starizona flattener, that can handle DSLRs so in that case maybe just use a Canon?

Stellarmate's image module is compatible w Canons (I think).