Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Amp Glow Not Calibrating Out

This is kind of a weird one. I know how to do calibration frames, take my darks, flats, dark flats, etc. I've been doing this for a few years and I've never seen anything like it. I recently purchased a full set of Chroma 31mm filters in Ha, SII, OIII, and LRGB. I have successfully taken images with all of them and all of them have been properly calibrated except for my Ha filter. No matter what I do, I always have a little bit of "amp glow" left on the side of my images. Any thoughts on why that might be and how to correct it? It doesn't make any sense to me at all. Thanks in advance!

EDIT:

For what it's worth, I have a ASI183MM camera, which is notorious for "amp glow". I'm using APT to capture all my images including my calibration frames. I process everything in PixInsight manually. I have not used the WBPP script in quite some time. I have gone back and examined some other files that I have done recently with other filters. It appears that it is actually a problem with all of my images, but it is just more pronounced in the Ha. Possibly due to the higher signal to noise ratio. It seems that PixInsight is not doing a great job completely eliminating the dark noise from my frames even though I am using all the same exposure settings. I have read other posts on other forms expressing the same issue. Some have claimed that SkyX does a significantly better job. Any thoughts or tips on something I may be missing in PixInsight that solved a similar issue for others would be appreciated.

Edited by Buzzard75

I had this problem starting out with my ASI 294MC, the problem turned out to be something with the ZWO native drivers I was using.  I was advised to change to the ASCOM drivers which solved the problem.  

Two things need to be checked:

1. what is your offset and what is your calibration method (which calibration frames do you take and how you calibrate)?