Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Plans for a beginner equipment

Hi to all!

I am new in the forum and have no experience with the telescopes. For my luck I found FLO and the guys there help me a lot. Also I play with this calculator so I can try to understand what can be my first equipment. Also I want to apologize, because English is not my native language, and because of this I may ask more than usual :)

My idea is to use HEQ5 GoTo SynScan as base, in case later decide to get 6" or 8" SCT.

My first idea for telescope was ZenithStar 73, but reading here and there, and playing with the FOV calculator I changed my plans. As total beginner may be the wiser will be to get an Explorer 130PDS. There are lot of good opinions about this telescope, and there are lot of nice astro photos too. The price is also much lower.

I hope to use the telescope for visual observations and astro-photography. Testing the 150PDS in the calculator with the Messiers looks like a magnification of x130 (exit pupil about 1mm) is enough for most of the smallest objects in the list. Testing the telescope with Jupiter, Saturn, Venus and Mars, and exit pupil about 0.5 (magnification about 200x) I may get acceptable views of them.

I accept corrections and comments about all above because it is only "on paper" :)

The 150PDS come with 2" focuser and adapter for 1.25" if I am not wrong, also "Eyepiece Supplied 28mm (2"/50.8mm)" - I am not sure how to understand this. Looks like I will need one or two more eyepieces and a Barlow/Powermate. And I am not sure how to combine them.

For example the Whirlpool galaxy is good at 130x. This mean 2x barlow and 10mm eyepiece or just 5mm eyepiece. For Lagoon nebula 28mm with 2x barlow is OK. For Jupiter 2x barlow with 5mm eyepiece (260x and exit pupil about 0.5) is may be the maximum I can get.

Talking about the barlows, is the performance of the powermate worth the bigger price?