SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Sky watcher dob 150 or 200?

I'm looking to buy a scope and I find the idea of a dobsonion attractive (nice aperture to price ratio). I have narrowed it down to the Sky Watcher Heritage 150 flextube with virtuoso GTI or the Skyliner 200P.

I am attracted by the 150's goto system, because I'm not experienced navigating the night sky.  However, the 200 offers a lot more light for the cost. The scopes cost about the same.

Any advice would be welcomed. 

• Like 1

When you buy a scope as a package, the money is shared between the scope, the mount, and the electronics.
Compromises have to be made.

A dob base is low cost compared to other mounts. It is chipboard, screws and a few strips of teflon for bearings.
This being common to both on your short list.
So with the 150, you are compromising the scope to buy the electronics.
No amount of electronics will gather more light.

Low cost goto is better thought of as 'go somewhere in the region of' and you need to go through an alignment process after power up.
With the manual scope, the process is place on floor, point, look.
It is extremely easy to find a lot of interesting objects and as your skills improve, you will find the more difficult targets.

Unless you have problems carrying or storing the bigger scope, my choice is the 200.
I have owned, or still own 200,250 & 300 scopes, flextube and rigid.

With a reflector, a right angle finder is always my first upgrade, though not everyone agrees. Finders are a personal choice.
Try the scope and see how you get on.
The supplied 10mm eyepieces are not so good, but decent upgrades for £50 or so can be done.
But don't spend on any of these until you have spent some time with the scope.

So there you have my thoughts. Free advice may not be worth more than you pay for it😁

I'm sure others will be along with their two pennorth. Keep asking the questions.