SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

What would I gain?

assouptro

Hi Starpeople!

I have been enjoying this fascinating hobby/obsession for over 14 years now 

Initially I resisted upgrading to a CCD camera for the first 10 years persevering with different DSLR cameras as they became affordable enough on the secondhand market to justify ripping them to pieces to modify them for astrophotography.

I did eventually dip my toe in the world of cooled CCD cameras buying a second hand Atik 314L+, old tech with a tiny sensor compared to my full frame Canon 6D but WOW! I was blown away by the difference in my (tiny) imaging abilities and couldn’t go back to DSLR unless trying for starscape milky way shots.

I went on to buy a Atik 460 and a 490 as they popped up at decent prices, filter wheels and eventually a set of 1.25” astrodon filters to avoid the dreaded Oiii halos.

I have really enjoyed using these cameras and it’s only the North West UK weather that stops me taking any opportunity to capture photons from billions of miles away! 

However after recently purchasing another ancient CCD “antique”namely an Atik 383L+ there have been a lack of clear skies and I found myself perusing forums and YouTube etc to satisfy my “Astro itch”only to discover it appears I am desperately behind the curve! It seems I should have sold all my CCD cameras whilst they were worth something, investing instead in CMOS technology!

Apparently, it’s the only way forward?

Looking at the second hand market it’s obvious there has been a shift.

I am curious though, 

Would the move to a modern CMOS camera be a subtle improvement? Or would it be a significant change as it was moving from DSLR to CCD?

I recently had a short window in the clouds and got to test the 383 sensor in broadband and it left me wondering..