SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Newbie to guiding. PHD2 woes.

Hi all, hoping for some help here.

I have a ZWO ASI 120mm and Astro Essentials 50mm guidescope from FLO and I'm using an HEQ5-Pro mount. Both StellariumScope and APT are able to talk to the mount and I've been using plate solving for a few months. 

I set up PHD2 using the connection wizard. It connects fine to the guide camera and happily finds a guide star. it also seems to connect fine to the mount but when I try to guide, it spends ages on the first calibration step and then claims the star has not moved enough. I tried using the manual control option in PHD2 and discovered that the mount is not responding to PHD2 at all. I am not using the ST4 cable so PHD2 should be talking directly to the mount.

Any ideas what to do next? I am thinking of ditching the connection profile and re-creating it from scratch.

Edited by Penguin

How is the mount connect to your laptop/PC, is it via a cable into the bottom of the handset or have you replaced the handset with an EQDIR cable?

If it's via the handset, have you put the handset into PC Direct mode (in the Utilities menu on the handset)?

Also have you enabled server mode in phd2 >tools you need to do that to enable Apt to communicate to phd2 via ascom  , have you created a Darks map in phd2 just incase a hot pixel is being chosen , also in Eqmod check pulse guide settings are not default 0.1 change both Dec and Ra to about 0.6 I had issue when I started guiding and this setting was the issue .

Edited by bottletopburly
  • Like 1

Not sure why you are using stellariumscope - doesn't the latest version of Stellarium now have scope control built in ?

Remove the ST4 cable and connect the camera via USB.