Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What Telescope

Hi All,

apologies in advance as i'm sure this is asked all the time!

Been looking at purchasing a Telescope recently, this is going to be a gift for my partner to stargaze.

I'm at a loss as what to get!, i know we'll be taking it around hiking and the likes - i don't mind lugging it if it means better quality images.

I believe a refractor type would be good for our uses, With an EQ mount over AZ - i'm a professional photographer by trade and as such may want to use this to then venture into astrophotography also.

I've been looking at the Celestron Astromaster line - more so the 90 and the 102 - i think the 102 only comes with AZ mounting however - also been considering the skywatcher 707.

Any help or suggestions would be much appreciated.

Budget £1-200 

will most likely travel with it

want to be able to view the moon at good detail - planets, constellations, galaxies - i realise this is almost everything to be seen and that my expectations will have to lower - potentially purchase more telescopes should we use this one often enough!

Durable, we like to hike and will no doubt go out our way to get to the best viewing locations - this is one choice that led me to refractors also, it maybe that they just look more durable?

thanks in advance for any help and suggestions offered,

Stephen.

Edited by sw89

Hi Stephen and welcome to SGL.

Yes a small-ish short tube refractor is good for carrying. 80mm or 100mm sort of size.
It will though start to show chromatic aberration on moon and planets, unless you buy a more expensive scope and/or spend on a violet cut filter and the like.

A longer FL refractor will be better for high magnification (planets) but the long tube will be more demanding of the mount.

As an indication a good photo tripod might move 0.5degrees and can be ignored. That is the diametere of the full moon.