SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

SW Mak 127 - Am I expecting too much ?

Well I picked one of these up used a couple of months ago - all looks in pretty good shape and as far as I can see reasonably collimated though I’m no expert.  Used it a few times especially as we’ve had Jupiter and Saturn up and about, but tbh on these I can’t seem to get great focus on any ep of 20mm and below, and not much detail and contrast which is disappointing considering what great planetary scopes they are supposed to be. Am I expecting too much ? For comparison (and yes I know it’s got more light grasp but is of course a slower scope) my 150 dob blows it out of the water on these two gas giants ! I even I think prefer the view through my little SW mak 90. Thoughts ? 

1 hour ago, johninderby said:

What sort of diagonal are you using?

The 127 mak should be giving very sharp images. They don’t usually need collimation. Have you done a star test which will show how well collimated it is.

I’ve got a fairly stock standard 90 degree mirror and a 45 degree prism. Must say I haven’t done a star test, bit remiss of me….I’ll do so and see what transpires. 

50 minutes ago, GazOC said:

If you're observing in the UK then Jupiter and especially Saturn are placed too low for the Mak to really show it's stuff

Yes I had considered that but still a bit surprised at the low quality visuals especially compared to the dob.

The Mak 127 was more or less my first scope. It was superb, and most people’s reaction to it is the opposite of yours. IE they’re surprised how good it is compared to expectations for something so inexpensive. I only don’t have mine now as someone offered a one-to-one swap for its bigger sibling, the Mak 150. That in itself shows how well-regarded it is.

Which leads me to suppose yours has somehow got itself miscollimated, or (hopefully not) worse (dropped it damaged), unless the culprit is the diagonal or the eyepieces.

Hooe you sort it,

Magnus